Attendance Requirements

for Elementary and Middle School Students
State of Louisiana (2011-2012)

The Attendance Policy for Elementary and Middle School Students for Fannie C. Williams Charter School is in compliance with Louisiana law. It states that all students between the ages of 7 and 18 are required to attend a public or private day school unless the child graduates from high school prior to his/her 18th birthday. Any child below the age of 7 who legally enrolls in school is also subject to this law.

Elementary and middle school students must be in attendance a minimum of 60,120 minutes or 167 days of the 180 school days this year. Students not meeting this requirement are subject to repeating the grade, regardless of their GPA. Students missing more than 15 days (16 or more) will repeat their present grade next year.

Students missing school as a result of any suspension shall be counted as absent or unexcused. Each student must turn in all assignments he/she missed while on suspension within five (5) days of returning to school.

When a student returns to school after an excused absence, the student shall have the opportunity to complete missed assignments. Missed assignments and/or tests should be made-up within five (5) days of returning to school, unless the principal or Chief Academic Officer grants an extension. It is the responsibility of the student and/or parent to request make-up work.

Unexcused absences will result in the student being ineligible to make up and receive credit for missed assignments.

Consequences for Unexcused Absences

1 or 2 unexcused absences parental contact
3 unexcused absences warning letter
3-4 unexcused absences parental conference
5 unexcused absences RTI team meeting
5 or more unexcused absences referral to Social Worker
5 or more unexcused absences referral to Juvenile Court